Dr. Jay Gambetta at IBM Quantum Summit 2022

IBM Quantum Summit 2022

Brian N. Siegelwax
10 min readNov 14, 2022

Osprey 433 was the least significant announcement!

I just returned from the IBM Quantum Summit 2022, and I’m still digesting all the announcements as I type. But, what was clear to me almost immediately is that IBMers are stressing on social media the unveiling of Osprey and its 433 qubits. In reality, that was probably the least significant announcement they made!

Osprey’s 433 Qubits

Osprey’s 433 Qubits

I was speaking with someone shortly before the event started, and he mentioned that a big announcement would be made. I immediately guessed Osprey, after which he stressed that I didn’t hear that from him and that I should please act surprised when the announcement is made.

But, that wasn’t a surprise. Osprey has been on the roadmap for this year, and it’s already November. It would be more surprising, quite frankly, if Osprey hadn’t been announced. Nor was its qubit count a surprise. Again, 433 has been on the roadmap. So, the anticlimactic announcement is that IBM has met its goal, however with the caveat that Osprey is still being tested; at the time I am writing this, it does not seem to have been made publicly available yet…

--

--